City Sports Report

Daily Debate? Could the 2012 Olympic Basketball Team Defeat the 1992 Dream Team?

Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers and the 2012 United States Olympic Team said he felt that the 2012 team could defeat the 1992 Dream Team. The current team includes Carmelo Anthony and Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks Russell Westbrook, James Harden and Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder, Andre Iguodala of the Philadelphia 76ers, LeBron James of the Miami Heat, Kevin Love of the Minnesota Timberwolves, Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers, Deron Williams of the Brooklyn Nets, and Anthony Davis of the New Orleans Hornets.

The 1992 team was comprised of Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Charles Barkley, Larry Bird, Patrick Ewing, David Robertson, Karl Malone, Clyde Drexler, John Stockton, Christian Laettner, Chris Mullin, and Scottie Pippen. Which team would have won if these two titans squared off in their prime, the 1992 Dream Team or this year’s team? Voice your opinion on the Razz and Jazz Sports Blog Daily Debate.


  1. Jor Roberts, Jr.

    July 13, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    On any given day…In a best of seven series it is hard to imagine the Dream Team losing to today’s team. Clearly the center position would be a mismatch in the Dream team’s favor. Laettner is arguably Chandler’s equal. Ewing would score 40 points on Chandler.

    There are too many guys on today’s team who have not sniffed the finals, much less a championship. I love Kobe and LeBron’s games, but to beat a team with Magic, Bird and Jordan I need to see names like Big O, Wilt, Kareem and Jerry West.

  2. razzandjazzsports

    July 13, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    Agree 100% Joe. I hear Barkley had the best comment. There are only three players on this team that would make the 1992 team, and that is 100% true. And guess what? Those three guys would argue that point.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>